It was built in 1908-12 as a part of planned navigation channel connecting the Danube, Oder and Elbe, which has never been implemented. The reservoir is currently used for recreation and also for the flood protection. The reservoir has an area of 38 ha, concrete dam is 36.5 meters high and 170 meters long.
Thanks to the scenic countryside, the dam Bystřicka is popular spot for swimming, water sports, hiking, biking, and recreational fishing, and even yachting.
The former spa town in the countryside attracts visitors for its location in the foothills of the Beskydy and leisurely lifestyle. The Wallachian Open Air Museum - the first such a museum in Czechoslovakia (opened in 1925) - offers to the visitors a glimpse to the typical Wallachian architecture and lifestyle of old Wallachs. The museum held annually fairs, daylong demonstrations of traditional crafts, carnivals, Christmas and Easter customs, pottery and blacksmith days, and other celebrations.
Radhošť mountain towering above Rožnov is famous mainly for the statue of the god Radegast by Albin Polášek and Chapel of Cyril and Methodius. Pustevny, of which ridge trail leads to Radhošť, are known for their typical buildings "Maměnka and Libušín" built by architect Dušan Jurkovič.
The extensive ruins from the 13th century is now surrounded by a park with a statue of Leoš Janáček´s famous opera The Cunning Little Vixen. Janáček lived in a nearby village. The castle held annually Music Festival called Janáček Hukvaldy.
A town known far and wide, not only because of "Štramberk ears" (sweet pastries), but also because of the urban conservation area with a castle tower called "hose".
Stroll around Valašská Bystřice along one of the many hiking trails and visit beautiful places associated with the history and nature. Use bike paths to explore the forests, mountains and villages. In winter, put on your skis and take advantage of the nearby ski slopes and cross-country trails.